Resources & Materials

Resources For Professional Development Providers

Washington State LASER is committed to supporting high-quality STEM education for every student in our state. See below for information about project based learning and inquiry-based instructional materials in use all across Washington.

 

STEM Notebooks

Science notebooks contain information about the students’ classroom experiences. Students are encouraged to use them as scientists would, before, during, and after all investigations. A science notebook can provide students who are uncomfortable with writing a safe place to practice and develop their skills and see that writing is used in all STEM fields. Learn More

Washington State LASER Alliances

Ten Washington State LASER Alliances are generously supported by Washington’s Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. The LASER Alliances provide training, guidance and technical support to districts that are considering participation in LASER, as well as to districts that are already in various stages of implementing the program. Each alliance comprises members from a myriad of educational and scientific institutions (e.g., school districts, ESDs, and universities). Learn More

Crayfish In The Classroom

The University of Washington in cooperation with the Pacific Education Institute and Washington Sea Grant conducted a study on crayfish use in the classroom and the possibility of using native crayfish to reduce the risk of non-native species being brought in for classroom use and accidentally being released. Download study summary.

Learn more about the effect of non-native species on our native crayfish from Oregon Public Broadcasting.

Washington State currently does not have enough of a reliable supply of native crayfish for all the educational kits using them. The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife have allowed a permit to be issued for the 2013-2014 school year for use of non-native crayfish as long as they follow the protocols outlined in this permit.

Science Materials Centers

Materials Support is one of the five elements of Washington State Leadership and Assistance for Science Education Reform (LASER). The ongoing support of Science Materials Centers’ personnel has helped research-based science teaching and learning reach the current level of prevalence in Washington State and beyond. At Science Materials Centers, science kits/modules are stored, refurbished and delivered to teachers when needed. Science Materials Centers are a cost effective means for implementing inquiry-based science as large amounts of materials are purchased, managed and distributed. Further, the burden of purchasing and managing materials is removed from the classroom teacher, and some Science Materials Centers even raise and keep living organisms. The Science Materials Centers’ staffs are constantly working on optimizing efficiency, purchasing power and their service for all teachers. Scroll down to see a listing of all Science Materials Centers in Washington.

Washington State Nuts & Bolts

The Washington State Nuts & Bolts group offers leadership and support for science materials center personnel. Most of the science materials staff are a part of this group, to learn more contact your local materials resource staff.

Washington State Science Materials Centers

There are two types of Washington State Science Materials Centers:

  1. Centralized materials centers that support a consortium of school districts.
  2. District based Science Materials Centers that support schools within their own school district (some also service neighboring school districts).

If your school district is not mentioned on this list but operates its own science materials center in Washington State, please email the contact information to wastatelaser@pacsci.org and it will be included here.

 

DistrictLocationContacts
BainbridgeScience Resource Center
9125 Sportsman Club Rd
Portable 230
Bainbridge Island, WA 98110
206-780-4541
Deborah Rudnick
drudnick@bisd303.org
BellevueBellevue Instructional Kits
12241 Main Street Bldg 3
Bellevue, WA 98005
425-456-4661
452-456-4669
Sharon Walker
walkers@bsd405.org
BellinghamLinda Pollino
Linda.Pollino@bellinghamschools.org
Central KitsapScience Kit Center
3790 NW Anderson Hill Road Silverdale, WA 98383
360-662-1822
fax 360-662-1821
Ila Frasquillo
ilaf@cksd.wednet.edu

Doug Dowell
dougd@cksd.wednet.edu
Clover ParkClover Park School District
Auxillary Service Center
9219 Lakewood Dr SW
Lakewood, WA 98499
253-583-5000
Maria Flores
mflores@cloverpark.k12.wa.us
EdmondsScience Materials Center
23200-100th Ave.
Edmonds, WA 98020
425-431-4715
Lenni Carey
careyl@edmonds.wednet.edu
Diane Martineau
martineaud@edmonds.wednet.edu
ESD 101 (Northeast)ESD 101 - Science Center
4202 S Regal
Spokane, WA 99223
509-789-3525
Beth Worthy
bworthy@esd101.net
Tammie Schrader
tschrader@esd101.net
Erik Wolfrum
ewolfrum@esd101.net
ESD 112 (Southwest)ESD 112 - SMERC
2500 NE 65th Avenue
Vancouver, WA 98661
360-750-7513
www.smerc.org
Serena Decator
serena.decator@esd112.org
Vickei Hrdina
vickei.hrdina@esd112.org
ESD 113
(Mt to Harbor)
ESD 113 - MASK Center
601 McPhee Road S.W.
Olympia, WA 98502
360-464-6780
Lynn Forbush
lforbush@esd113.k12.wa.us
ESD 189 (Northwest)Northwest ESD 189
Marysville-Pilchuck High School
5611 108th Street
North Building
Marysville, WA 98271
360-657-6099
https://www.nwesd.org/smc
Kelly Spears
kspears@nwesd.org
Evergreen ECritter FarmEvergreen Public Schools
PO Box 8910
Vancouver, WA 98668
360-604-3959
Christy Sell
christina.sel@evergreenps.org
EverettScience Resource Center
Hawthorne Elementary
1110 Poplar Street
Everett, WA 98201
425 385-4676
Shirley Maynard
smaynard@everettsd.org
Tara Rider
trider@everettsd.org
Federal Way1344 So 308th
Federal Way, WA 98023
253-945-5559
Marlene Dawson
mdawson@fwps.org
HighlineScience Resource Center / Maywood
1410 South 200th Street
SeaTac, WA 98148
206-433-2528
Jami Haskin
jami.haskin@highlineschools.org
Kevin Tatum
kevin.tatum@highlineshools.org
KennewickBattelle Science Center
Kennewick School District
1000 W. 4th Ave
Kennewick, WA 99336
509-222-6888
Holly Hollis
holly.hollis@ksd.org
KentKent School District - SMRC
11000 SE 264th St
Kent, WA 98030
253-373-6949
Amy Spies
amy.spies@kent.k12.wa.us
Lake WashingtonLake Washington Support Services
15212 NE 95th St
Redmond, WA 98052
425-882-5109
Lorie McDaniel
lmcdaniel@lwsd.org
Mercer IslandMISD Administration Office
4160 86th Avenue, SE
Mercer Island, WA 98040
Cathy Ramsay
cathy.ramsey@mercerislandschools.org
Mount BakerMount Baker School District
PO Box 95
Deming, WA 98244
360-383-2013
Gwen Garrett
ggarrett@mtbaker.wednet.edu
MukilteoScience Distribution Center
1625 Madison Way
Lynnwood, WA 98087
425-710-4394
Sharon Hawes
ScienceCntr@mukilteo.wednet.edu
Tim Takayoshi
ScienceCntr@mukilteo.wednet.edu
North Central ESDNorth Central Washington LASER Alliance Refurbishment Center
3306B - 5TH St SE
East Wenatchee, WA 98802
509-888-1912
Darlene Robbins
darlener@ncesd.org
NorthshoreNorthshore Support Services
22105 23rd Dr. SE
Bothell, WA 98021-4409
425-408-7835
Debbie Hough
dhough@ncesd.org
North ThurstonNorth Thurston Public Schools
6620 Carpenter Rd. SE
Lacey, WA 98503
360-412-4591
Crystal Bell
cbell@nthurston.k12.wa.us
Oak HarborOak Harbor School District #201
200 SE Midway Blvd.
Oak Harbor, WA 98277
360-279-5642
Susan Nesmith
snesmith@ohsd.net
OlympiaOlympia School District
1113 Legion Way S.E.
Olympia, WA 98501
360-596-8543
Peggy Butler
pbutler@osd.wednet.edu
Olympic ESD 114Science Kit Warehouse Coordinator
OESD 114 Science Kit Center
105 National Ave. N
Bremerton, WA 98312
360-782-5071
Sarah Freitas
sarahf@oesd.wednet.edu
PuyallupScience Resource Center
"The Little Red House"
1509 39th Ave SW
Puyallup, WA 98373
253-840-8970
Jan Ward
jwardjm@puyallup.k12.wa.us
RentonKohlwes Education Center (KEC)
300 SW 7th Street
Renton WA 98055
425-204-2300
Cathy Williams
Cathy.Williams@Rentonschools.us
Joan Thordarson
Joan.Thordarson@Rentonschools.us
SeattleScience Materials Center
Seattle Public Schools/NZ-303
1109 North 35th Street
Seattle, WA 98103
206-545-7024
Aaron Reed
acreed@seattleschools.org
ShorelineShoreline School District
18560 - 1st Ave NE
Shoreline, WA 98155
206-393-4522
Lynn Franklin
lynn.franklin@shorelineschools.org
Snoqualmie ValleyOpstad Elementary School
1345 Stillson Ave. SE
North Bend, WA 98045
425-831-8358
Rhonda Hughes
hughesrk@svsd410.org
SpokaneSpokane Public Schools (SRC)
2525 N Cincinnati
Spokane, WA 99207
509-354-7208
Robyn Norwood
robynn@spokaneschools.org
TacomaScience Materials Resource Center
6501 N 23rd St
Tacoma WA 98406
253-571-3510
SMRC@tacoma.k12.wa.us
VancouverVancouver School District
PO Box 8937
Vancouver, WA 98668
360-313-1000
Sue Prindle
sue.prindle@vansd.org
Walla WallaWalla Walla Public Schools
Science Materials Center
1174 Entley St.
Walla Walla, 99362
509-525-1046
Anne-Marie Notaras
amnotaras@wwps.org
Jane Baffney
jbaffney@wwps.org
WenatcheeWenatchee School District
Science Resource Center
1001 Circle Street
Wenatchee, WA 98807
509-663-9106
Jill Fineis
fineis.j@wenatcheeschools.org

Airahna Jones
jones.a@wenatcheeschools.org
Yakima (ESD 105)Yakima School District
104 N. 4th Avenue
Yakima, WA 98902
509-965-0615
Brian Kelley
Kelley.Brian@yakimaschools.org
Chad Quesnell
quesnell.chad@yakimaschools.org
Observation Protocol

The Science Classroom Observation Protocol document contains science classes observation protocol that align with the vision of effective science instruction encouraged by Washington State LASER through the network of Regional Alliances and the network science coordinators. It includes:

  • Science Classroom Observation Rubric
  • Science Classroom Observation Worksheet
  • Science Classroom Visitation Trait Reference Sheet
  • Science Classroom Visitation Worksheet

Download the document (194KB PDF).